Tompkins Cortland Community College

College News

Peter Voorhees

Public Information Officer
Sports Information Coordinator

607.844.8222, Ext. 4351

Social Media
Stay connected with
Tompkins Cortland

College News

News Release

Tompkins Cortland Men's Soccer Places Five on All-Conference Team

October 26, 2011

Once again this year, the Mid-State Athletic Conference (MSAC) men's soccer all-conference team has a decided Panthers feel to it. Tompkins Cortland Community College placed five players on the 21-man team, tied for the most from any college in the conference. Tompkins Cortland has had at least four players on the all-MSAC each year dating back to 2001.

The 2011 all-MSAC honorees are Samir Naamane (Casablanca, Morroco), Josh Piger (Dryden H.S./Dryden), Martin Rodriguez (Hendrick Hudson H.S./Cordova, Argentina), Brian Wagstaff (Chenango Valley H.S./Apalachin), and Edem Wemene (Nottingham H.S./Syracuse). Voting for the all-conference awards is done by the coaches from the seven MSAC soccer programs. Jefferson Community College also placed five players on the team, with Onondaga Community College next with four.

Naamane led Tompkins Cortland in scoring with 29 points on 10 goals and 9 assists. Wemene followed with 27 points on 12 points and 3 assists. The two combined to account for more than 40% of the goals Tompkins Cortland scored this season.

Piger, Rodriguez, and Wagstaff are all repeat all-MSAC selections. Piger had three goals and three assists this year, good for fifth on the team in points. Rodriguez had a goal and an assist while leading a defense that set a new Panthers standard for fewest goals allowed in a season. Goalkeeper Wagstaff posted eight shutouts this year, second on the Panthers record list to the 10 he posted last year.

2011 Mid-State Athletic Conference All-Conference Team

  • Tim Murphy, Onondaga
  • Cory Walker, Jefferson
  • Colin Price, Onondaga
  • Edem Wemene, Tompkins Cortland
  • Hobie Ramin, Onondaga
  • Samir Naamane, Tompkins Cortland
  • Corey Bruet, Broome*
  • Jeremy Post, Corning
  • Parker Weeks, Finger Lakes
  • Brian Wagstaff, Tompkins Cortland*
  • Martin Rodriguez, Tompkins Cortland*
  • Mario Paiva, Cayuga
  • Jordon Cole, Broome
  • Bruno Gaudie-Ley, Cayuga
  • Mike Bernard, Finger Lakes
  • Dave Hovendon, Jefferson
  • Justin Warner, Jefferson
  • Connor Taylor, Jefferson
  • Dave Spaulding, Jefferson*
  • Josh Piger, Tompkins Cortland*
  • Francisco Curiel, Onondaga
  • *repeat all-MSAC selection