Tompkins Cortland Community College

College News

Peter Voorhees

Public Information Officer
Sports Information Coordinator

607.844.8222, Ext. 4351

Social Media
Stay connected with
Tompkins Cortland

College News

News Release

Panthers Dominate All-Conference Honors

October 25, 2013

The 2013 Mid-State Athletic Conference (MSAC) men’s soccer post-season honors have been announced, and for the second straight year, Tompkins Cortland Community College has dominated the honors. The Panthers claimed the most spots on the all-conference team, as well as the two individual awards. In voting by the coaches of the seven teams in the MSAC, Morgan Shutter (Odessa-Montour H.S./Alpine) has been named the Player of the Year and Andy Davis has been named the Coach of the Year. Additionally, Tompkins Cortland claimed seven spots on the 20-man all-conference team; the next most was four. The College repeated as conference champions, winning the title with a record of 6-0 against fellow MSAC teams.

Shutter is the fourth different Panther in the last five years to be named conference player of the year, and the seventh all time. Shutter leads Tompkins Cortland with 24 points on 10 goals and four assists. Joining Shutter on the all-MSAC team are Sean Streb (Lansing H.S./Lansing), a repeat selection; Rob Licciardi (North Babylon H.S./North Babylon); Yauhen Malko (James Madison H.S./Brooklyn); James Demshick (Newburgh Free Academy/Newburgh); McZiggy Richards (School for Human Rights/Brooklyn); and Evan Holl (Marathon H.S./Marathon). It marks the 13th consecutive season Tompkins Cortland has had at least four players named all-MSAC.

For Davis, it’s the fifth time he has been honored as the conference coach of the year. His teams have claimed five MSAC titles in his nine years at the College.

2013 Mid-State Athletic Conference All-Conference Team

Morgan Shutter, Tompkins Cortland
Sean Streb, Tompkins Cortland
Robbie Hoover, Broome
Rob Licciardi, Tompkins Cortland
Jason Boxx, Cayuga
Tautis Poniskaitis, Cayuga
Matthew Massenzio, Onondaga
Mike McGinnis, Corning
Anson Dann, Broome
Turner Antonakos, Broome
Yauhen Malko, Tompkins Cortland
Patrick Maroney, Onondaga
James Demshick, Tompkins Cortland
Sean Wynn, Cayuga
Ryan Haines, Finger Lakes
McZiggy Richards, Tompkins Cortland
Kyle Miller, Jefferson
Matthew Spencer, Cayuga
Evan Holl, Tompkins Cortland
Bojan Topalovic, Onondaga

Our Stories

Sam Trotman

Sam Trotman

Going 'everywhere'

Full story

CollegeNow - College Credit for High School Students

News & Announcements