Sue Dale-Hall Appointed to College Board of Trustees

Sue Dale-Hall

Sue Dale-Hall of Ithaca has been appointed to the Tompkins Cortland Community College Board of Trustees by New York State Governor Kathy Hochul. Dale-Hall is on the board as a representative of Tompkins County, with a term that expires in 2025. She fills a seat that has been vacant since Dammi Herath stepped down in 2018.

Dale-Hall joins the Board following 40 years in nonprofit management in Maine, Wisconsin, and New York. She recently retired as the CEO of the Child Development Council, an organization that supports the growth and development of child care and family services in Tompkins County.

“I am very excited to be a part of the TC3 Board of Trustees and to help build on its mission here in Central New York,” said Dale-Hall. “TC3 connects with key elements of the community: quality education for a broad range of students, child care, jobs, and economic sustainability. I am looking forward to sharing my talents to address these strategies for the future.”

Dale-Hall has a long history of community service, serving on a variety of boards including the New York State Early Care and Learning Council, Human Services Coalition, Kendal at Ithaca, and the Cancer Resource Center. She has also served in an advisory capacity to the TC3 Early Childhood Committee, Cornell University’s Work Family Advisory Committee, and Leadership Tompkins.

A graduate of Indiana University with a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Public Affairs, Dale-Hall says she hopes to be able to help students overcome obstacles to their academic success. “I look forward to helping find creative and strategic solutions for student support, like child care, food and housing security,” she said.

The Tompkins Cortland Community College Board of Trustees consists of 10 members, including a student trustee elected by the student body. The governor appoints four trustees, two each from Tompkins and Cortland Counties; the Cortland County Legislature appoints two; and the Tompkins County Legislature appoints three.